skip to main content

Sycamore Avenue Library

Reading Resources




Coming together is a beginning. Keeping together is progress. Working together is success. - Henry Ford


Book Awards


John Newbery Award: given annually "to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children".

2014 winner
Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated  Adventures  by Kate DiCamillo

Honor Books
Doll Bones  by Holly Black
One Came Home  by Amy Timberlake
Paperboy  by Vince Vauter
The Year of Billy Miller    By Kevin Henkes

Randolph Caldecott Medal: given annually " to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children".

2014 Winner
Locomotive  by Brian Floca

Honor Books
Flora and the Flamingo  by Molly Idle
Journey  by Aaron Becker
Mr. Wuffles  by David Wiesner

Coretta Scott King Awards: given annually "to recognize outstanding books for young adults and children by African American authors and illustrators that reflect the African American experience."

2014 Author Award
P.S. Be Eleven by Rita Williams-Garcia

Honor Books
Darius and Twig  by Walter Dean Myers
March: Book One  by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin
Words With Wings  by Nikki Grimes

2014 Illustrator Award
Knock, Knock: My Dad's Dream For Me  by Daniel Beaty
Honor Book-  Nelson Mandela by Kadir Nelson

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award: "given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year."

2014 Author Award
The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli

2014 Illustrator Award
A Big Guy Took My Ball by Mo Willems
Ball by Mary Sullivan
Penny and Her Marble by Kevin Henkes